# Crisis Group's Board of Trustees

## **President & CEO**

Jean-Marie Guéhenno

Former UN Under-Secretary-General for Peacekeeping Operations

# **Co-Chairs**

## Lord (Mark) Malloch-Brown\*

Former UN Deputy Secretary-General and Administrator of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)

#### Ghassan Salamé\*

Dean, Paris School of International Affairs, Sciences Po

## Vice-Chair

#### Ayo Obe\*

Legal Practitioner, Columnist and TV Presenter, Nigeria

# **Other Trustees**

#### **Mort Abramowitz**

Former U.S. Assistant Secretary of State and Ambassador to Turkey

## Fola Adeola

Founder and Chairman, FATE Foundation

#### Ali al Shihabi

Author; Founder and former Chairman of Rasmala Investment bank

## Celso Amorim

Former Minister of External Relations of Brazil; former Defence Minister

## **Hushang Ansary\***

Chairman, Parman Capital Group LLC

#### Nahum Barnea

Political Columnist, Israel

#### Carl Bildt

Former Prime Minister and Foreign Minister of Sweden

#### **Emma Bonino**

Former Foreign Minister of Italy and European Commissioner for Humanitarian Aid

#### Lakhdar Brahimi

Member, The Elders; UN Diplomat; Former Foreign Minister of Algeria

## Micheline Calmy-Rey

Former President of the Swiss Confederation and Foreign Affairs Minister

#### Cheryl Carolus\*

Former South African High Commissioner to the UK and Secretary General of the African National Congress (ANC)

## Maria Livanos Cattaui\*

Former Secretary-General of the International Chamber of Commerce

## **Wesley Clark**

Former NATO Supreme Allied Commander

#### Sheila Coronel

Toni Stabile Professor of Practice in Investigative Journalism; Director, Toni Stabile Center for Investigative Journalism, Columbia University

#### Mark Eyskens

Former Prime Minister of Belgium

#### Lykke Friis

Prorector for education at University of Copenhagen; Former Climate & Energy Minister and Minister of Gender Equality of Denmark

#### Frank Giustra\*

President & CEO, Fiore Financial Corporation

#### Alma Guillermoprieto

Writer and Journalist, Mexico

#### Mo Ibrahim

Founder and Chair, Mo Ibrahim Foundation; Founder, Celtel International

## **Wolfgang Ischinger**

Chairman, Munich Security Conference; former German Deputy Foreign Minister and Ambassador to the UK and U.S.

## **Asma Jahangir**

Former President of the Supreme Court Bar Association of Pakistan; Former UN Special Rapporteur on the Freedom of Religion or Belief

# Yoriko Kawaguchi

Former Minister for Foreign Affairs, Japan

## **Wadah Khanfar**

Co-Founder, Al Sharq Forum; Former Director General, Al Jazeera Network

## Wim Kok

Former Prime Minister of the Netherlands

## Ricardo Lagos

Former President of Chile

#### Joanne Leedom-Ackerman

Former International Secretary of PEN International; Novelist and journalist, U.S.

## Sankie Mthembi Mahanyele

Chairperson of Central Energy Fund, Ltd.; Former Deputy Secretary General of the African National Congress (ANC); Former National Minister for Housing, South Africa

## **Lalit Mansingh**

Former Foreign Secretary of India, Ambassador to the U.S. and High Commissioner to the UK

## Thomas R. Pickering\*

Former U.S. Undersecretary of State and Ambassador to the UN, Russia, India, Israel, Jordan, El Salvador and Nigeria

## Karim Raslan

Founder, Managing Director and CEO of KRA Group

## Olympia Snowe

Former U.S. Senator and member of the House of Representatives

#### George Soros\*

Founder, Open Society Foundations and Chair, Soros Fund Management

#### Javier Solana

President, ESADE Center for Global Economy and Geopolitics; Distinguished Fellow, The Brookings Institution

#### Pär Stenbäck

Former Minister of Foreign Affairs and of Education, Finland; Chairman of the European Cultural Parliament

#### Jonas Gahr Støre

Leader of Norwegian Labor Party; Former Foreign Minister of Norway

#### **Lawrence Summers**

Former Director of the US National Economic Council and Secretary of the U.S. Treasury; President Emeritus of Harvard University

## **Wang Jisi**

Member, Foreign Policy Advisory Committee of the Chinese Foreign Ministry; Former Dean of School of International Studies, Peking University

#### **Wu Jianmin**

Executive Vice Chairman, China Institute for Innovation and Development Strategy and Member, Foreign Policy Advisory Committee of the Chinese Foreign Ministry; Former Ambassador of China to the UN (Geneva) and France

## Chairmen Emeriti

#### Martti Ahtisaari

Former President of Finland

# George J. Mitchell

Former U.S. Senate Majority Leader

## President Emeritus

#### **Gareth Evans**

Former Foreign Affairs Minister of Australia

# **Crisis Group Senior Advisers**

Crisis Group's Senior Advisers are former Board Members (to the extent consistent with any other office they may be holding at the time) who maintain an association with Crisis Group, and whose advice and support are called on from time to time.

See a list of Crisis Group's Senior Advisers.

\* Ex officio, and member of Board of Directors.